There has been a little confusion over keeping, deleting social media pages in the event you want deactivate.
(Meaning you dont want to give up a page, but dont want it live either)
For simplicity I’ve included the options and a suggestion for Twitter
Personal accounts – can be deactivated and reactivated later (pay attention to prompts instructions when deactivating)
Business / Fan pages – can only be deleted – with no reactivation
Business / Fan pages – will delete if your only admin (personal profile) is deleted / canceled
– as long as it has 1 admin it will stay live.
(takeaway: protect your business page by having more than 1 admin)
Deactivating your account permanently removes your profile and information from Twitter
Before you deactivate your account, you should know: Continue reading Social Media Deactivation options – Facebook | Twitter